Several UCR Researchers Named Fellows in Respective Fields

Tuesday, December 4th, 2012

Source: UCR Today

In the past week, several UC Riverside professors were announced as Fellows in their respective areas of study. From engineering to ecology, five researchers as well as several UCR alumni are among a handful in the county to receive such high honors. These include:

Alexander Balandin

Alexander A. Balandin, a professor of electrical engineering in the Bourns College of Engineering and founding chair of materials science and engineering at the University of California, Riverside, has been named an IEEE (the world’s leading professional organization for advancing technology for humanity) Fellow for 2013. Balandin, who is also the recipient of IEEE Pioneer of Nanotechnology Award for 2011, is being recognized for his contributions to the characterization of thermo-electric properties of semiconductor nanostructures and graphene, a material that could play a major role in keeping laptops and other electronic devices from overheating.

Richard Seto (top) and Jing Shi (bottom). photo credit: UCR Strategic Communications

Richard Seto and Jing Shi were two of only 250 researches to be elected as fellows of the American Physical Society (APS) this year.  Seto, a professor of physics and astronomy, was elected an APS Fellow “for creative experimentation and leadership in the study of hadronic matter under extreme conditions including measurements and analysis leading to the discovery of the strongly-interacting Quark Gluon Plasma (sQGP).”  Shi, also a professor of physics and astronomy, was elected an APS Fellow “for his pioneering work in spin transport in organic semiconductors and organic molecules.”

Edith Allen (top) and Pingyun Feng (bottom). photo credit: UCR Strategic Communications

Edith Bach Allen and Pingyun Feng have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Allen, a professor of plant ecology, was recognized for “contributions to research and outreach in restoration ecology, soil ecology, invasive species ecology, and impacts of anthropogenic nitrogen deposition on vegetation and soil.” Feng, a professor of chemistry, received the honors for her “contributions to porous inorganic and materials chemistry, particularly for the rational design of semiconducting porous materials and chalcogenide cluster chemistry.”