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BUCKLE UP DAY AND NIGHT 
Seat Belt Ticket Increases to $142 

 
Riverside, California – If you’re planning to hit the road for a late spring or early summer 
getaway, be sure that everyone in the car wears their seat belt on every trip, day and night.  Law 
enforcement throughout the state, including Riverside Police Department will be looking for 
unbelted drivers and passengers as part of the 2010 Click It or Ticket mobilization, May 24 – 
June 6.  This year, fines and fees have increased from $132 to $142 for first time adult seat belt 
violations.  For children under 16, the fine is now $445 for a first time offense.  
 
“Keep your friends and family safe by buckling up no matter where you’re going,” said Captain 
John Wallace, the Special Operations Commander.  “We will be looking for motorists throughout 
the area who are not buckling up, day and night.  It’s not just about avoiding a ticket; it’s about 
keeping the ones you care about alive.” 
 
Seat belt violators will receive citations – no warnings. The Click It or Ticket campaign relies on 
heavy enforcement and public education as a means to help save lives on California’s 
roadways. More than 600 permanent Click It or Ticket highway signs, which have been up since 
2005, will be updated to reflect the new ‘Minimum $142’ in the coming months. 
 
“Wearing a seat belt is just simply the easiest and most effective thing you can do on the road to 
protect yourself and your family,” said Christopher J. Murphy, Director of the California Office of 
Traffic Safety.  “That means buckling up day and night, on every trip.” 
 
Currently California has a seat belt usage rate of 95.3 percent, but that still means over half a 
million people are not buckling up.  Properly restrained drivers, passengers and children have a 
50 percent better chance of surviving a crash than unbelted occupants.  Those ejected from 
vehicles in crashes or roll-overs are up to 35 times more likely to die than restrained occupants. 
 
More than 150 local law enforcement agencies statewide and the CHP will be participating in 
this year’s Click It or Ticket mobilization. Funding to support California’s Click It or Ticket 
campaign was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety through the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 
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