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DUI/Driver’s License Checkpoint Planned this Weekend

Riverside, CA - Riverside Police Department Traffic Unit, part of the Riverside County DUI
Enforcement Team, will be conducting a DUI/Driver’s License Checkpoint on Friday, April
15, 2016, at an undisclosed location within the city limits between the hours of 7:00 p.m. to

1:00 a.m.

The deterrent effect of DUl checkpoints is a proven resource in reducing the number of
persons killed and injured in alcohol or drug involved crashes. Research shows that
crashes involving an impaired driver can be reduced by up to 20 percent when well-

publicized DUI checkpoints and proactive DUI patrols are conducted routinely.

In California, this deadly crime led to 802 deaths and nearly 24,000 serious injuries in 2012
because someone failed to designate a sober driver. Nationally, the latest data shows
nearly 10,000 were killed by an impaired driver. “Over the course of the past three years,
DUI collisions have claimed 20 lives and resulted in 205 injury crashes,” said Sgt. Robert

Tipre.
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Officers will be looking for signs of alcohol and/or drug impairment with officers checking
drivers for proper licensing delaying motorists only momentarily. When possible, specially
trained officers will be available to evaluate those suspected of drug-impaired driving,
which now accounts for a growing number of impaired driving crashes. Drugs which may
impair driving not only include illegal narcotics, but many prescription drugs, marijuana,

and even some over-the-counter medications.

DUI Checkpoints are placed in locations based on collision statistics and frequency of DUI
arrests affording the greatest opportunity for achieving drunk and drugged driving
deterrence. Locations are chosen with safety considerations for the officers and the

public.

Drivers caught driving impaired can expect the impact of a DUI arrest to include jail time,
fines, fees, DUl classes, other expenses that can exceed $10,000 not to mention the

embarrassment when friends and family find out.

Funding for this checkpoint is provided to Riverside Police Department by a grant from the
California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety

Administration, reminding everyone to ‘Report Drunk Driver — Call 9-1-1°.
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