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DUI/DRIVER'’S LICENSE CHECKPOINT PLANNED THIS WEEKEND

RIVERSIDE, CA — The Riverside Police Department Traffic Bureau will be conducting a DUI/Driver’s License
checkpoint on Friday, May 23, 2014, at an undisclosed location within the city limits between the hours
of 6:00 p.m. and 12:00 a.m.

The deterrent effect of DUI checkpoints is a proven resource in reducing the number of persons killed and
injured in alcohol or drug involved crashes. Research shows that crashes involving an impaired driver can
be reduced by up to 20 percent when well-publicized DUl checkpoints and proactive DUl patrols are
conducted routinely.

In California, this deadly crime led to 774 deaths because someone failed to designate a sober driver.
Nationally, the latest data shows nearly 10,000 were killed by an impaired driver. “Over the course of the
past three years, DUI collisions have claimed 12 lives and resulted in 192 injury crashes harming 281 of our
friends and neighbors,” said Sergeant Skip Showalter.

Officers will be looking for signs of alcohol and/or drug impairment with officers checking drivers for proper
licensing delaying motorists only momentarily. When possible, specially trained officers will be available to
evaluate those suspected of drug-impaired driving.

Recent statistics reveal that 30 percent of drivers in fatal crashes had one or more drugs in their systems. A
study of active drivers showed more tested positive for drugs that may impair driving (14 percent) than did
for alcohol (7.3 percent). Of the drugs, marijuana was most prevalent, at 7.4 percent, slightly more than
alcohol.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), checkpoints have provided the
most effective documented results of any of the DUI enforcement strategies, while also vyielding
considerable cost savings of $6 for every $1 spent. Nearly 90 percent of California drivers approve of DUI
checkpoints.

DUI Checkpoints are placed in locations based on collision statistics and frequency of DUI arrests affording
the greatest opportunity for achieving drunk and drugged driving deterrence. Locations are chosen with
safety considerations for the officers and the public.

Drivers caught driving impaired can expect the impact of a DUI arrest to include jail time, fines, fees, DUI
classes, other expenses that can exceed $10,000 not to mention the embarrassment when friends and
family find out.
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Funding for this checkpoint is provided to Riverside Police Department by a grant from the California
Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, reminding everyone to
continue to work together to ‘Report Drunk Drivers — Call 9-1-1."
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MEDIA NOTES: To schedule an interview regarding the Riverside Traffic Safety Operations, please contact
Sergeant Skip Showalter, (951) 351-6046, or via email at sshowalter@riversideca.gov. To schedule an
interview regarding impaired driving efforts and programs in California please contact Chris Cochran,
California Office of Traffic Safety at (916) 509-3063 or via email at ccochran@ofts.ca.gov.
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