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    Riverside Police to Conduct End of Summer DUI Crackdown 
 

Riverside, CA – The Riverside Police Department will be joining law enforcement agencies throughout California 
stepping up DUI enforcement at the end of the traditional summer season through Labor Day – August 16 through 
Sept. 2.  During the crackdown period, there will be an increase in law enforcement presence on the roads, including 
additional officers and DUI checkpoints throughout the state, and those caught driving under the influence of alcohol 
and/or drugs will be arrested.   
 
The Riverside Police Department Traffic Unit will be conducting a DUI/Driver’s License checkpoint on Friday, August 
30, 2013, at an undisclosed location within the city limits between the hours of 6:00 p.m. and 12:00 a.m.  The 
California Office of Traffic Safety is reminding Californians to plan ahead during the crackdown and every day by 
designating a sober driver. 
 
“The end of summer and Labor Day weekend is traditionally a time to have fun,” said Sergeant Skip Showalter. “Don’t 
let it turn into a time of tragedy or jail visit by driving impaired by alcohol or drugs. We will be out looking for those 
making that unwise and dangerous choice.” 
 
The Riverside Police Department will be joining the CHP, Avoid DUI Task Forces and over other 115 local police 
departments across the state. Specially trained officers will be on hand to detect drivers under the influence of alcohol 
as well as legal or illegal drugs.  In 2011, 774 California drivers with a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher were killed 
in alcohol-impaired crashes. A first-time DUI conviction can cost up to $10,000 in fines, legal fees, and insurance 
increases. 
 
During the Labor Day weekend in 2011, a total of 138 people across the county were killed in motor vehicle traffic 
crashes involving drivers or motorcycle riders with a .08 BAC or higher.  Of those fatalities, 83 percent occurred during 
early evening and overnight. 
 

Funding for this checkpoint is provided to Riverside Police Department by a grant from the California Office of Traffic 
Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, reminding everyone to continue to work together to 
bring an end to these tragedies.  If you see a Drunk Driver – Call 9-1-1.  
 

MEDIA NOTES: To schedule an interview regarding the Riverside Traffic Safety Operations, please contact Sergeant 
Skip Showalter, (951) 351-6046, or via email at sshowalter@riversideca.gov.  To schedule an interview regarding 
impaired driving efforts and programs in California please contact Chris Cochran, California Office of Traffic Safety at 
(916) 509-3063 or via email at ccochran@ots.ca.gov.  
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