This area began to be settled in 1875, as the Village of Arlington. But it has never been a city apart from Riverside, as it was included in the original 53.2 square mile city limits when Riverside was incorporated in 1883.
Arlington dates back to the original 1876 subdivision plans of the Riverside Land and Irrigating Co., owned by Samuel C. Evans and William Sayward. Shortly after 1900, the little commercial district known as Arlington included a Methodist Church, boarding house, pool hall, store, a couple of doctor's offices, Chemawa Park (with zoo, rides, and polo field, primarily for Frank Miller's guests at the Glenwood Mission Inn who took the Arlington Electric Streetcar Line down to the park), and the newly relocated Sherman Indian Institute.
The land that was annexed later came from two large annexations in 1961 and 1964. Arlington is a neighborhood with a rich history and its age is evident in its traditional street design. Newer developed sections of the neighborhood reflect modern subdivision planning. Commercial uses are centered around Magnolia Avenue and Van Buren Boulevard, and the former site of the Riverside General Hospital offers a great opportunity for a large-scale, well-planned development. Three quarters of the homes in Arlington were built between 1950 and 1980 and limited remaining space has curtailed any large-scale recent development. Arlington has two of the most active neighborhood associations to be found in the City, the Arlington Community Committee and the Arlington Project Area Committee. The Arlington Redevelopment Area, formerly confined to a single intersection, was recently expanded to encompass more than one thousand acres in the heart of the neighborhood.
Council Representatives & Wards